Water supply design definition

d_sa_zigom

I created a Grasshopper definition which designs cold water supply branched network, by using Joseph Brix methode.
Unit load according to German standard DIN1988-W308.
Definition uses an evolutionary algorithm – Octopus to determine the most efficient solution in terms of energy losses along the network.

Manual adjustments on the pipe diameters are also available.
Critical consumer (sanitation) determination on a basis of the smallest slope of the piezometer line (hydrodynamic pressure line).
Control of water speed in pipes and it’s correction.
Water meter selection based on the required amount of water.
Calculating inner pipe diameters in inches or milimeters.
Recapitulation on pipe lengths and diameters
Automated print report into Excel along with graphical preview.

Additional, non-domestic Grasshopper features used in definition:

Clean set of lines component (SpiderWeb v3.0) by Richard Schaffranek
ShortestWalk 1.5.1.0 component by Giulio Piacentino
Octopus Solver v0.1 by Robert Vierlinger
Export to Excel VB component by David Mans
ShowPic Excel function by Damon Ostrander

House section preview:

proba3a_sa_zigom

Report preview:

proracunbproracun2b

 

For detailed preview of the calculation procedure check the following video:
https://vimeo.com/59348027

4 Responses to Water supply design definition

  1. Martin Hedin says:

    Really interesting, could you post a screenshot of the Grasshopper flowchart?

  2. djordjespasic says:

    Hi Martin,

    Unlike some of my private projects on this blog, where I posted the definition previews, this one was created as an ownership of the company I work for.
    I already got one request from the Serbian guy to post the definition, and got rejected after asking my boss. Sorry.
    I could ask him on Wednesday about posting a screenshot, rather than definition itself, but I think the result will be the same. I will let you know.

    Nevertheless you can freely ask about the particular parts of definition, and in what way they have been achieved.

  3. Martin Hedin says:

    Ok thanks! Well tell your boss that the more you share, you inspire other people to share as well, so you will get something back! Let me point you to my realtime archviz that I am sharing ;) http://blenderartists.org/forum/showthread.php?274381-CAD-BIM-Microstation-SketchUp-gt-Blender-Realtime-Archviz-Interactive-Design

    • Djordje Spasic says:

      I know that mate.
      Trust me, I am using a lot of my spare time to contribute whenever I can, especially at the grasshopper forum. Of course in boundaries of my knowledge.
      Still this does not depend on me. It’s not like he intends to sell the definition or something, but he is not willing to share it. And no, he did not allow me to post a screenshot of it. Sorry.

      Again, if you are interested in any particular part of the definition and the way it was created, just ask.

      Btw. I am not a Blender user, but your project does look interesting. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

